Options

5 interviews, 3, possibly 4 offers!

I've seen a few threads/message in the past week or so about how Minnesota is a hard place to find IT work, so I figure I post this to let everyone know that there are jobs out there in MN.

Ever since I updated my resume with my CCNP, I've received calls left and right, and have gone on 5 interviews. Of those 5 interviews, I've received 3 offers, and I'm pretty sure another one is on the way.
  1. Offer #1 - Security Admin at a large MSP with over 10,000 employees
  2. Offer #2 - Network Engineer at a smaller MSP, between 200-250 employees
  3. Offer #3 - Network Engineer at medium size MSP servicing Fortune 1000 companies
  4. Offer #4 (possibly) - Network Analyst at a fortune 1000 company. I say possibly, but have been told by the hiring manager and HR that I'll have the offer letter by Tuesday.
All these jobs asked for 5-10 years of experience, a bachelor degree. I have a little over 4 years of experience, currently working on my A.S degree online, and have the certs under my name. I keep hearing about how hard it is to get jobs without experience, yet
  • I have little to no experience in security but was offered the Network Security job because (in their words) they believe I am motivated, and a quick learner. They don't doubt that I will be able to pick up the technologies being used
  • I only have 1.5 - 2 years of solid networking experience, but was offered the Network Engineer positions (which was seeing 5-10 years of experience) for the same reason.
You may not get the first 2 or 3 jobs you applied for, but as long as you keep at it, you'll land one in no time.

Comments

• Options
    kriscamaro68kriscamaro68 Member Posts: 1,186 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Congrats on the offers. My vote is the Security Admin position.
  • Options
    universalfrostuniversalfrost Member Posts: 247
    congrats!