Options

How to get into IT in a bad job Market?

IsmaeljrpIsmaeljrp Member Posts: 480 ■■■□□□□□□□
Being in Puerto Rico, employers here are ridiculous in there hiring methods...one example was I saw a help desk position, but they required 7 yrs experience, a bachelors, various Certs, and that is normal to see over here. You will never see an 18-20 yr old working a helpdesk/desktop support, or any entry level IT job...you see them at Mcdonald's...it's pitiful.

I am doing a BS in Computer Science with a focus on Systems and Network administration. I'm in my 3rd year. And I'm going to take the Cisco ICND 1 test December 7th, and I plan on getting CCNA in March. Right now I stand to graduate top 2 in my class, the other person is a friend of mine, and he is a Network/System Admin in a small school with about 50 users, so he has the work experience over me.
My only job experience is as a PC technician, self employed btw, that's just how bad it is here in PR. Shops are really small with 1 or 2 techs, and they are actually the owners of the shop, they can't afford to hire more techs.

My plan is to move back to hometown New Haven, Connecticut. Some people in the USA just don't realize how easy they got it in terms of job oportunities. Thing is, I need experience badly before moving. How do I get it? Most people say: " You'll need to get a helpdesk role " , but in what way will that get me networking experience? How did you guy's do it?

I'm mostly looking for feedback from people that live in really bad markets for jobs. But any comments from anyone could help. I'm looking for career wisdom :/.

Comments

• Options
    WafflesAndRootbeerWafflesAndRootbeer Member Posts: 555
    I'd say leave. There are reasons why most Puerto Rican citizens leave Puerto Rico and the economy is among them.
  • Options
    IristheangelIristheangel Mod Posts: 4,133 Mod
    I would say to relocate as well. If you can't get a job, relocate to a place where you can
    BS, MS, and CCIE #50931