Options

New Face / My Situation

Deadpan_IncredulousDeadpan_Incredulous Member Posts: 7 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello, folks. First post here, just trying to get a feel of the place as I plead my case.

As an introduction (and just so there are no confusions later), I'm currently 30 years old, and I moved from Illinois to Arizona in 2012 (not my choice) after having spent too long in school. I eventually graduated from a for-profit trade school with a Bachelor's in Applied Science that I can't even use because I abandoned my lifelong prospects of getting into the game industry.

Anyway, last December I graduated from the Desktop Technician program at Western Career Institute, paid for by the Workforce Investment Act, and I've now 5 of 6 different tech certifications under my belt. I have A+, and the following MTA's: Networking, Server, Security, and OS. Network+ is on its way, I just need to find the time to study for the exam in between life getting in the way.

The only real question I have is where to go from here, and I suppose my intention is to use this thread to fish for suggestions. I've no prior experience in the tech field (aside from maybe CompUSA, but I was just the door guy), and very few leads I've seen are legitimately entry-level. Since I'm out of school, I can't take any internship positions, and I certainly can't apply to places that demand I know the ins and outs of SQL, Red Hat, UNIX, VoIP, and Active Directory (though I have basic knowledge of the latter two).