Options

Initial switch configuration best practices

alias454alias454 Member Posts: 648 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi, I have been lurking here for awhile and appreciate all the great information I have been able to pick up from this site. I am currently studying for the CCENT/CCNA R&S using Wendell Odom's book and have a few general questions that may or may not be related to the test itself.

1: In one scenario, two 2950 switches are connected on fa0/8 using a crossover cable. During the initial config, VLAN200 was setup as a MGMT VLAN and assigned an IP (fa0/1). VLAN999 was added for unused ports and placed in a shutdown state. VLAN666 was added to use as the native VLAN on the trunks because I have read in a couple of places that having the native VLAN the same as VLAN1 or the management VLAN is not best practice. From playing around and changing the trunk from dynamic desirable on both sides then dynamic auto on both sides etc., I noticed the trunk port fails to an access mode state on VLAN1 by default. My question is, should the access vlan be left to the default (VLAN1), be set to VLAN666, set to VLAN999, or something completely different?

2: Another scenario, is having a headquarters along with a branch site. When setting up a remote switch, is it okay to use the same VLAN ID that is designated elsewhere? I know subnets have to be different for routing but are there issues if one has MGMT VLAN200 (192.168.10.10/24) defined then at a remote site defines another MGMT VLAN200 (192.168.20.10/24) using a different IP or is it just better to define a different VLAN at the remote site?

Thanks for your time and insights
“I do not seek answers, but rather to understand the question.”

Comments

• Options
    instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
    alias454 wrote: »