Options

Problem with Motivation...

Smoke86Smoke86 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I graduated from college in Network/Systems in 2011, so I'll have been out of school for about four years this spring 2015 coming up. Anyway....

So, been having kind of a rocky start in the field and would like some advice, wondering if maybe I can benefit from anyone else's experiences. It's been almost a year since my layoff in February from the last job and I am a little worried to say the least. I have been pretty burnt out since and have not worked another job in that time. I decided to take a break while I collected unemployment, and focus on what I really want. I toyed with the idea of becoming a writer, but then I lost focus due to life circumstances and didn't end up producing anything of value, other than a whole bunch of incomplete, barely-started manuscripts. Well, anyway, this is probably more of a self-discipline problem, but here it goes.

I have this very deep need to devote myself to something, yet whenever I get motivated by something, it doesn't last and I end up falling off of whatever it is I'm aiming for. I actually have the intelligence to go for some certifications, but I lack the drive. I'm 28 and I'm already burned out. I come from a helpdesk background, so I guess this probably doesn't surprise some of you according to what I've read from other professionals going through the same thing.