Options

Best career decision for security

LaunchpadLaunchpad Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I'm looking for some career advice. I'm a recent graduate with a BBA and between my current job and some internships I have about 2 years of IT support experience. The company I'm working for currently has offered me a position as a security analyst. This is a smaller company of about 450 employees which owns a large hotel, a minor league hockey stadium, and several retail outlets and restaurants and would be the first time they've ever had a security-focused role. It's a diverse role that includes all aspects of the organization's security but a good chunk of it would be compliance-based (PCI).

I've also received an offer from Google to work in their ITRP (IT residency) program. This is a 26-month IT support role, and I would be eligible to apply for other jobs internally within 18 months. Depending on where I get assigned I could also have the opportunity to do some work with teams within Google. However the program doesn't start until June or August depending on the location.

So pay, benefits, location and everything else aside, I'm trying to figure out which one would be better for someone who wants to get into infosec. Obviously the position with my current employer is a lot more relevant in the short-term, but long-term working for Google could open up a whole world of possibilities in the near future. Google also has available a great wealth of knowledge and people who could mentor me, but with the other position I would mostly be learning on my own.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts and opinions! :)

Comments

• Options
    BlackBeretBlackBeret Member Posts: 683 ■■■■■□□□□□