Has anyone passed 461, 462, 463 without work experience?

laptoplaptop Member Posts: 214
I'm a software tester with 3-4 years of experience and touch sql server management studio once in a while to check data records but I don't really count this as experience. I also worked 1 year in application support but didn't really use SQL Server that much (only basic restore database, increase size).

I'm curious if anyone passed these exams (461, 462, 463) through self-study by reading books and training videos?

Comments

• nsternster Member Posts: 231
    I'm studying for the 462 without any experience. Labbing a lot can help mitigate that you don't have much experience. However, I'm doing this exam in lieu of the 412 for the MCSA Windows Server, as I feel like having basic knowledge of how to Administer SQL Server could be useful
  • zaleonardzzaleonardz Member Posts: 61 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Define software tester,

Have you done any Visual Studio Work

462 I would say if you have half a clue about computers, domains, file systems you can wing it, no problem
    461 Is a bit of a different beast, and you can do it without any experience, but your going to need to work hard at it, as there is a lot of cognitive links you wont have without experience,

The exam querying on 461 is basic, but you need to be able to visualize data, tables, have reporting experience ect. THis has to be in minds view, you need to understand all of this. Example, if I talk about a common table expression, your not going to get why it rocks if you have not sat there for hours and hours and have written queries that have 10 or more L/R joins, or why use views, your aggregate functions.

463, I will let ya know how it goes, as I have just started, but this looks to be largely based in visual studio...
  • laptoplaptop Member Posts: 214
    nster wrote: »