Options

Question about CISSP Qualification?

ArabianKnightArabianKnight Member Posts: 278 ■■■□□□□□□□
Ok, I am trying to see if my experience qualifies me in at least 2 of the domains required. First off is there 8 or 10 domains, because the endorsement sheet say 10 but it says 8 on the website? I have a degree so that is 1 year off so I only need 4 years to qualify.

I am looking at Security Operations and Asset Security. I have 6 years infantry plus 2 years doing security overseas. Would this experience suffice?

Comments

• Options
    renacidorenacido Member Posts: 387 ■■■■□□□□□□
    When you say "security", you mean more than physical security, correct? By Security Operations you're saying you did event monitoring, incident triage/response, intrusion/malware analysis, etc?
  • Options
    Also. Since April 15 there are 8 domains.
  • Options
    Nothing INFOSEC related unfortunately, physical security, access control, surveillance, designing physical security protocols and asset protection (people, places and stuff), also markings requirements (labels, classifications, etc)
  • Options
    beadsbeads Member Posts: 1,531 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The CISSP is by its very nature an INFOSEC exam with little emphasis on physical security in the first place. Unless of course knowing how to use the correct fire extinguisher is paramount to your INFOSEC position. Its an old running joke amongst security practitioners. Keep in mind the CISSP is considered a mid career exam not an entry level exam.

Have you also looked into the SSCP exam? The requirements are lower and sounds more appropriate at this point in your career.

Yes, I have been referred to as the board -*hole, etc. and being kind while I soften my image.

- b/eads
  • Options
    kalkan999kalkan999 Member Posts: 269 ■■■■□□□□□□
    B/eads,