Options

Promotion to sys admin fell flat on its face this morning

thrshr2004thrshr2004 Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
What are your guys thoughts about the excuse “You are currently too valuable to the service desk to let you go at the moment”?

Situation:
I am a lead tech on the service desk with 4 other techs that I work with. I was being promoted to systems admin on the networking team and was given the date of July 15. This promotion has been over a year in the making.

This is where things go south. 1 of the techs just put in his 2 week notice, and another tech has a job offer on the table. So in total they would be losing 3 techs including me

I was told today by upper management that “You are currently too valuable to the service desk to let you go at the moment”?

Am I being illogical or too emotional about being p*ssed off about this? I honestly feel lost and confused after the meeting I had with them today. Any thoughts would be very much appreciated :)

Comments

• Options
    Kinet1cKinet1c Member Posts: 604 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Is it possible for you to get a sys admin job elsewhere?
    2018 Goals - Learn all the Hashicorp products

Luck is what happens when preparation meets opportunity
  • Options
    FidelityFidelity Member Posts: 43 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hmmm. This is a complicated situation. Those words are generally a nail in the coffin, but with everyone having quit it might be sincere. They could still be planning to give it to you once they get some new techs onboard or they could be planning on keeping you on the service desk forever.

My advice is to ask them if this is just a temporary delay before you get the position or if this means it's completely off the table. If it is temporary I would ask for an estimate of how long they would think it would be before you move up.