Options

McAfee rescinded job offer

jonenojoneno Member Posts: 257 ■■■■□□□□□□
Hi guys,
This is more of a motivational rant against myself. I currently work as a security analyst in DC and I'm trying to move on to a higher or a more challenging position. I recently got my resume out and the calls started coming in. I received a call last week from McAfee about a consulting position because I have tons of experience with ePo, endpoint encryption and SIEM. After the interview the hiring manager and security engineer liked me and asked what I was looking for pay wise. I told them I wanted 80k. He was like -"fine, this position actually pays between 95-120k depending on experience". I was blown away; needless to say I agreed to take 95k. Fast forward to today, the security engineer called me saying he couldn't get HR to look beyond me not having a bachelors degree.

I tried explaining that I'll be done soon and I also intend pursuing a masters degree in information security. He felt he could bend the rules for me, but HR said not having that is a show stoppericon_cry.gificon_cry.gificon_cry.gif. He was kind enough to send me a second email asking when I'm I graduating and told me to keep in touch with him. For those of you that thinks certification answers all or degress are useless, there it is.

Comments

• Options
    Dieg0MDieg0M Member Posts: 861
    Just move on to the next job offer. Plenty of jobs out there that don't require a degree.
    Follow my CCDE journey at www.routingnull0.com
  • Options
    macsmallsmacsmalls Registered Users Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Jeez, that sucks man. I've got the degree(s) just lacking the direct experience ...trying to make it to where you are!
  • Options
    ZorodzaiZorodzai Member Posts: 357 ■■■■■■■□□□