Is an IT career a bad decision?

backinthe80sbackinthe80s Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm looking for a little advice from those with experience in the IT field.
I'm 33 years old and thinking of attending WGU for a bachelors in IT-security.
I have no experience. I would get a cert to get into the school.
My concern is that by the time I graduate I will be 37/38 years old with no experience.
Yes, I will have a degree and certs but I am hearing from quite a few people that age discrimination is prevalent in
the IT field. On top of that, I hear from many college graduates who are having a hard time getting in the door.
Also, outsourcing.

I do have an "ok" job now working for the state government. I would like to learn new skills but I also don't want to
switch jobs and later become unemployed because I was too old.

Any advice is appreciated.
Thanks!

Comments

• AlexsmithAlexsmith Member Posts: 42 ■■□□□□□□□□
    IF you've done your research and truly desire a career in IT Security than I say go for it, your not to old to follow that goal as long as you keep on the right track.

I made a thread a while back about others who had a late start in IT.

http://www.techexams.net/forums/jobs-degrees/97749-how-many-late-starters-do-we-have-here.html
  • markulousmarkulous Member Posts: 2,394 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Why would you wait until you graduate to get experience? You'll have to get a cert to get into WGU anyway (unless you have an associate's). Grab an easy CIW cert to get admitted entry, get your A+, and then find an entry-level job. By the time you graduate you should have a few years experience along with a nice degree and a lot of certs. I don't see being 37 being an issue at all at that point.
  • VAHokie56VAHokie56 Member Posts: 783