Options

Work ethic during "downtime"

2»

Comments

• Options
    Snow.brosSnow.bros Member Posts: 832 ■■■■□□□□□□
    This is a really good thread, our organisation gets a lot of downtime these days. I have always been wondering if studying is ethical when there is down.

Well I also study during downtime and read articles relating work environmental ethics on linkedin, reading some posts on TE, basically I always read anything that would be beneficial to my career and my job, I believe that's all work related but I always keep an eye on the help-desk tickets and monitor networks every 5-10 minutes. I always have a guilt feeling when someone walks in while I am studying or reading an article, that's when I start acting as if I am busy doing something work related.
  • Options
    philz1982philz1982 Member Posts: 978
    I do one of three things:

Study for a skill I have seen us need but are lacking.
    Network with others in the company and help them out with side projects.
    Evaluate past engagements, see where the inefficiencies were and then try to close those gaps.

I also post here occasionally...
  • Options
    ClaymooreClaymoore Member Posts: 1,637
    UnixGuy wrote: »
    Granted I won't be the 'winner' here.

Sure you are, because you will no longer be working in that toxic, dysfunctional environment.

Downtime is unavoidable and I would rather you have your nose in an MCSA book than Facebook. My company has a different attitude about that. If we have downtime, we are expected to be training and expanding or deepening our skillset. They also consider us to be professional adults that can manage our own time. As long as my deliverables and deadlines are being met and my billable hours are on target, they really don't care when or where I work.
  • Options
    ZartanasaurusZartanasaurus Member Posts: 2,008 ■■■■■■■■■□