Options

Had an amazing job opportunity BUT...........reality hit me.

studyforcertsstudyforcerts Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
BACKGROUND: Hi guys, I have been a passive member of this community for a few months, mostly reading posts to help guide me in through my transition from a job in the medical field (emergency medical technician) into a career in the IT field. I have lost my desire to be in the healthcare field a long time ago and I finally decided to make a change. College is not within my reach due to being in bad standing with student loans which make me ineligible for additional financial aid. That being said, I started self-studying and got my A+ cert in November 2014. Since then, I have been unemployed and desperately looking for an entry level IT job.

It has been a huge challenge for me being that I have no direct job experience working in an IT business setting, but I feel I did my quite well with my resume, listing some pretty relevant skills I developed in the medical field that carry over well into the IT field. One job I thought I would be interviewed for, Geek Squad, out right denied me and sent me a nice little email wishing me luck! I mean, if Geek Squad won't give me a chance, I don't know who will.
Next week I take my Net+ exam, so BLA BLA BLA.

Long story short, I've been pretty desperate for an opportunity to get some hands on experience. I've even registered on volunteer matching websites to try and volunteer for IT projects where I was hoping to just tag along and get some experience, helping out in whatever way I can. But I was rejected by 2 of them because they want experience, lol.