Hours per day worked by IT Security/Pentesters?

ProlifixProlifix Member Posts: 8 ■□□□□□□□□□
Could those of you who work in IT Security/Network Security/Penetration Testing tell me how many hours a day you work on average? For instance, I know that Software Developers / Programmers work around 9 hours a day on average, whilst for many System/Network administrators 10 hours a day of shift work, plus being on call, is considered normal.

I know that one or two of you who work in IT Security mentioned that you work 8-9 hours per day. I wanted to find out if that is the norm since I myself am thinking about moving into IT/Network security or perhaps penetration testing.

Comments

• Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    It is 100% dependent on the company you work for and your lifestyle. I'm a contractor in security, I can't bill more than 40 hours in a week unless there is a major emergency and I need higher level approval for the billing.

You'll find people who are in desktop support who work 65 hrs a week and aren't getting overtime, you'll find architects who work 30 hrs a week at most. It's really all over the map.

What I will say about security that is different than my many years as a sysadmin, you have to do a lot of research. Things change every day, much faster than something like a new version of exchange coming out or a new version of a firewall. New attacks are constant. Some people might include the number of hours they spend reading about security as their work time. For example, if I bill 40 hours a week, but spend 8 hours a week at home reading about security because it really interests me, I wouldn't say I "work 48 hours a week".
  • docricedocrice Member Posts: 1,706 ■■■■■■■■■■
    The number of required work hours per week is going to vary quite significantly by the company as well as the particular role.