Certifications serious debate

TonyTruong101TonyTruong101 Member Posts: 16 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey Guys,

A little background information about my situation:

I have been working at a small company with about 100+ end users ranging from the field to the office where i spend most of my time. I am the main contact for help desk technician expected to resolve any troubleshooting requests involving our IT related equipment but i am currently not certified in any formal way. I was on my way to complete the CompTia A+ when I started reading more posts on techexams regarding CompTia Certs.

I read that CompTia is mainly for beginners without experience working with computers. I've been around computers since XP self taught, nothing technical and I've only been working with a Windows 2008 R2 Active Directory SBS environment for the last 3 years. But even then it was mainly adding and removing users , Setting up and editing exchange mail server so basic AD stuff. I also am a trainer for the company I work at as I am fairly comfortable speaking to strangers and training them to use IT related equipment.

What my issue is I read that CompTia certs have no worth especially the A+ I desperately want to get in the door with InfoSec. Should I skip the A+ entirely and go straight into Security +?

Also what job titles should I be looking at with my current experience.. I know it can't be much and I probably won't get into any IT security job without some sort of validated experience I just want to grow beyond my help desk role and advance further in my career but at this current moment I have no idea how to go about it.

EDIT: