Options

computer security

Tech333Tech333 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
For a career in this field is a cs degree worthwhile?

Comments

• Options
    jt2929jt2929 Member Posts: 244 ■■■□□□□□□□
    You bet. Pretty much any IT related degree is worthwhile, then you get certs specific to security to move you along.
  • Options
    CyberscumCyberscum Member Posts: 795 ■■■■■□□□□□
    It will take you further than anything else you can get in IT. If I was to do it all over I would have concentrated less on certs and more on a CS degree.

Although it takes a certain kinda person to sit through and pass calculus 2 classes. I am not he...Or he is not I... I was never any good at english as well.
  • Options
    philz1982philz1982 Member Posts: 978
    I'll put it this way. My biggest regret career wise, is that I got a degree in Business for my BS and not a CS degree. I could be leap years beyond where I am right now both in title and pay if I had gotten a CS degree.
  • Options
    dustervoicedustervoice Member Posts: 877 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It will be one of the best decisions in your life!!
  • Options
    danny069danny069 Member Posts: 1,025 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You bet your bottom dollar it is, go for your Masters too, it will pay off in the end.
    I am a Jack of all trades, Master of None
  • Options
    fuz1onfuz1on Member Posts: 961 ■■■■□□□□□□
    A sound computer science education is very useful in security - and necessary...IMHO.
    timku.com(puter) | ProHacker.Co(nsultant) | ITaaS.Co(nstultant) | ThePenTester.net | @fuz1on
    Transmosis | http://transmosis.com | LinkedIn | https://linkedin.com/in/t1mku
    If evil be spoken of you and it be true, correct yourself, if it be a lie, laugh at it. - Epictetus
    The only real failure in life is not to be true to the best one knows. - Buddha
    If you are not willing to learn, no one can help you. If you are determined to learn, no one can stop you. - Unknown
  • Options
    TWXTWX Member Posts: 275 ■■■□□□□□□□