Options

Will ITIL Foundation increase likelihood of being hired in 2016?

metalone4metalone4 Member Posts: 66 ■■□□□□□□□□
Is it even relevant any more? I'm almost ready to take the ITIL Foundation exam. I've put my CCNA studying on hold so that I can knock this ITIL cert out. In terms of value on a resume, is it even worth having? I'm currently not working, will it increase my chances of getting interviews? I've got tons of "ITIL like" experience, just no ITIL cert...yet.

Comments

• Options
    PolynomialPolynomial Member Posts: 365
    It seems nice to have but utterly meaningless.

At least in my experience.
  • Options
    Polynomial wrote: »

That's a shame. Perhaps I'll save the $250 for another exam. On a related note, any opinions on what certs will increase chances of getting interviewed? I have over 10 years of experience, now I just need more certs.
  • Options
    kohr-ahkohr-ah Member Posts: 1,277
    metalone4 wrote: »
    That's a shame. Perhaps I'll save the $250 for another exam. On a related note, any opinions on what certs will increase chances of getting interviewed? I have over 10 years of experience, now I just need more certs.

10 years of experience doing what for experience?
    What do you want to do or what would you like to end up doing?
  • Options
    kohr-ah wrote: »
    10 years of experience doing what for experience?
    What do you want to do or what would you like to end up doing?

I was a Technical Analyst/admin of an automated pharmacy system. Production line environment, a mix of robotics/automation, and Windows domain support. I'd like an intermediate-high level support job in a similar vein. It doesn't have to be a production line, but that's where most of my experience lies.
  • Options
    PolynomialPolynomial Member Posts: 365
    The Microsoft site has more guidance than we could probably give since you're more familiar with yourself than we are:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/learning/certification-overview.aspx