Options

Which Job would you choose? Job Dilemma

jimjamesjimjames Member Posts: 13 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys,

Great forum. I used to be a member back in the early days 2005/6 I think. While I stopped posting and forgot my login, I've been consistent lurker.

Here is my current situation:
I'm on the job market for a short time, after being laid off recently. I just received two job offers. I am having hard time deciding which one to accept. I have 10 years experience, started in pc repair, moved on to desktop support then spent the last 5 years in system and network administration with some desktop support involved.
Here are the two job offers:
Job 1: Desktop support at a hedge fund, $95,000 a year, 15 minute commute. With possibility for performance bonus twice a year.
Job 2: Systems Administrator at a University, no dealing with desktop support end users, purely server work, $80,0000, 30 minute commute.

Both jobs have the regular health benefits.

Which job would you choose?

Comments

• Options
    koz24koz24 Member Posts: 766 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would take the System Admin job in a heartbeat. It will look better on your resume when you apply for future System Administrator jobs. Taking the Desktop support job would be short sighted imo.

Also, where did you find this 95k Desktop job? NYC? I know a lot of Desktop guys would kill for that salary.
  • Options
    pinkydapimppinkydapimp Member Posts: 732 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Id go with the hedgefund. You can make big money in those hedgefunds. I know app support folks that make $170k at hedgefunds. if you are ok with the high paced/high stress role, you can really make good money there.
  • Options
    No_NerdNo_Nerd Banned Posts: 168
    95K for desktop support means that you might be the smartest person in the room ( which is never a good thing right). I would take the Sys admin job for sure .

case in point I turned down 90K for desktop support for that very reason.
  • Options
    No_Nerd wrote: »