70-461

13»

Comments

• DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
    What Eager said is not what I have seen, not to say he or she is lying I just haven't seen it. I log into boxes all the time and develop code daily. I literally have BIDS (now called something Tools) and SSMS up all the time. If I am not working in SSAS tabular or with cubes I am updating data, creating views out of complex SQL or whatever..... I think for me it's a pride thing but hey I can't seem to pass the exam. But I can set up SSIS packages to use JSON to strip zipped files and have them load into our data warehouse. LOL
    @Daniel

I work as a master data analyst and these are the skills I see for junior and even middle level positions.

MS Access and Excel.
    Beginning level of statistics. Difference between mean and median, standard deviation, cross correlation, variance.
    Specific industry knowledge depending on what type of company you are working for. Health care, Finance etc.

Nice to haves.

VBA, you would be shocked but this has really made me shine. Most of the analyst can barely write macros I can build solutions and clean large ugly data sets with VBA, it really helps me stick out. In fact my last promotion was because of the VBA skills I would leverage all the time. I must of worked over 15 VBA projects in 2015 and I was promoted to senior. Just saying....

Relational database and even more important data warehouses.

Awesome to haves and things that get you paid.
    Strong understanding of SSAS and cube, tabular technology.
    Ability to build front end applications for ETL and data scrubbing.
    SSIS or Informatica or another ETL tool. We have guys in our company that make about as much as you can make in IT and all they do is set up ETL's, of course they are VERY complex.

There are other things as well, but the most important thing is attitude. Be a team player and don't toss people under the best, no criticism it's garbage.