Options

How do you describe your job to laymen?

TechytachTechytach Member Posts: 140
I am fairly certain my mother thinks I fix TVs and such icon_lol.gif

I figure this would also be a useful skill for interviews or when speaking to customers or the boss.

I have tried being technical and straight forward, (to friends and family) and they tell me they've tuned me out icon_silent.gif

Comments

• Options
    ErtazErtaz Member Posts: 934 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I tell them that I make sure the TPS reports run.
  • Options
    Danielm7Danielm7 Member Posts: 2,310 ■■■■■■■■□□
    If there is no chance they'll ask me to fix their computer, "I work in IT" or "IT Security". If there is a chance they will ask me to fix their computer i'll say something else so they don't think I'm their helpdesk. For actual job interviews I expect them to know what I do or I wouldn't be there for an interview, ha.
  • Options
    Ertaz wrote: »
    I tell them that I make sure the TPS reports run.
    Don't forget the cover sheet!
  • Options
    tmtextmtex Member Posts: 326 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I play on the internet all day
  • Options
    fmitawapsfmitawaps Banned Posts: 261
    I fix computers, parlaying the average persons' ignorance and Microsoft's incompetence, into CASH MONEY PROFITS for me.
  • Options
    ErtazErtaz Member Posts: 934 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Techytach wrote: »
    Don't forget the cover sheet!

Because of separation of duties, I can't be responsible for the cover sheet. I understand that we are working toward job rotation so that I can be trained in the cover sheets at some point.
  • Options
    ITSpectreITSpectre Member Posts: 1,040 ■■■■□□□□□□
    tmtex wrote: »
    I play on the internet all day

Solitare and minesweeper
    In the darkest hour, there is always a way out - Eve ME3 :cool:
    “The measure of an individual can be difficult to discern by actions alone.” – Thane Krios
  • Options
    blatiniblatini Member Posts: 285
    I make the internet work good
  • Options