Options

Why a double master's why not move to the doctorates

ClmClm Member Posts: 444 ■■■■□□□□□□
Just curious I see alot of people grab double masters in the technology field why not move to the doctorates level.
I find your lack of Cloud Security Disturbing!!!!!!!!!
Connect with me on LinkedIn https://www.linkedin.com/in/myerscraig

Comments

• Options
    PCTechLincPCTechLinc Member Posts: 646 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I completed my Master's in Information Security and Assurance from WGU, and I'm working on my MBA in IT Management also from WGU. My reasoning for NOT going for Doctorate is two-fold:

1) With my education history, I have maxxed out my student loans, and could only afford another Master's.
    2) I have read too many stories of people with Doctorate Degrees that have difficulties finding employment.

I have to admit, reason #1 is what did it for me. I actually didn't know that I still had enough available to finish another Master's. I was going to stop at one. Having enough for another was a bonus. I have no problems with the amount I will have to pay after I graduate, because I have always valued education.
    Master of Business Administration in Information Technology Management - Western Governors University
    Master of Science in Information Security and Assurance - Western Governors University
    Bachelor of Science in Network Administration - Western Governors University
    Associate of Applied Science x4 - Heald College
  • Options
    Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I'll stick with finishing one Master's degree!! I'm debt free from student loans paid in full 100% I couldn't imagine having that debt again. However, on the topic I think that for most people they rather have two master's degrees because of the time commitment, cost, and most likely an aspect of marketability in comparison to the doctorate. A doctorate is really meant for research or academia.

Just my two cents :)