Options

cybersecurity masters degree -- whats the go too?

2»

Comments

• Options
    jeremywatts2005jeremywatts2005 Member Posts: 347 ■■■■□□□□□□
    @aspiringsoul I hate to tell you I was a Dean for ITT Tech and worked in the community college "NonProfit" segment. I know all about the numbers and I know all about what different colleges do and don't do. Your numbers on ITT Tech are skewed at best. Even community colleges market and send out marketing materials. Second, each ITT campus was its own unique school or a school within a school. There was a parent campus with child campuses attached to the accreditation of that school which was divided into regions.

Each region was unique in how it took care of its students. For instance, did you know that community and "non-profit" colleges do not need to adhere to the job placement regulations? Those are only required for the for-profit schools. We had to place 80% or more of the students into an in the field placement at a set salary to justify the tuition. If you didn't then your school could be and most likely was placed on probation and could have its accreditation yanked.

I know we had a lot of vets sign up for college. Why they are looking for technical hands on training which is not always found in the community college system. You also have to take into consideration like at my campus I paid for students A+, N+ and S+ plus paid for the instructor to teach it at no charge to them. Why? Because it made them employable. I know of other campuses who did the same thing. I also had unemployed students who needed jobs. I helped them to find work or I employed them at work studies. At one point I had 30 lab techs on a 600 person campus. There were some shiny mouse balls. No degree is totally worthless it had some value whether you transferred credits from the degree to another college or some of the knowledge benefited you elsewhere it does have some value.