Options

Is a Masters degree REALLY worth it?

ITSec14ITSec14 Member Posts: 398 ■■■□□□□□□□
Since I finished my bachelors a few years back I've been contemplating the idea of returning to get my masters in something security related. (Many schools offer different types of degree programs)

This is a little more complex in my situation for many reasons...a.) I graduated from a private university so I have a pretty good chunk of student loans, b.) I've been in the security field for about 10 months now, c.) My employer most likely will not pay for me to return to school

So....here's my questions:

1. Does the ROI outweigh taking out another $20-$30k in student loans?

2. Should I wait another few years before pursuing an advanced degree? Experience is the biggest factor in success, but making myself look more marketable helps get past those stupid HR screenings.

3. If it would be a good move, what kind of schools are available at a decent tuition rate while still being reputable?

Any advice is greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

Comments

• Options
    dhay13dhay13 Member Posts: 580 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Going to tag along here as I am in a similar situation. Not sure of your age but I am 48 so I feel that plays into my decision too. Do I have enough time left in my career to benefit from racking up more student loans? I'm still paying student loans from my B.S. from 2010.
  • Options
    NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Could be worth it. Might not be though... Depends what type of jobs you want. Higher level positions might ask for Master's degrees. I would look up jobs you are wanting to pursue and see exactly what they are asking to get your answer.
  • Options
    I think it's never too late to go back to school, but with how much college costs now it's nerve wrecking. A lot of jobs I see now are considered mid level and they "prefer" a masters degree. At least, that's what the HR people want to see.
  • Options