Options

No degree, no certs, and eventually no job.

2»

Comments

• Options
    mzx380mzx380 Member Posts: 453 ■■■■□□□□□□
    bhoops wrote: »
    I have 30 years MIS/IT experience, basically 10 years database, 10 years C application development, and 10 years of "devops". My infosec work is limited to helping the Sysadmin staff investigate a few breaches, running auditing tools and parsing the output logs. I don't have a background in infosec, so some kind of certs would be a good idea, or at least I would want to make sure I knew the material covered by the certs. I have been teaching myself whatever I need to know for so long, a cert is basically a curriculum to me.

I think you are too hung up on lack of degree. A degree will help you advance up the ladder of an organization but if you are simply worried about EMPLOYEMENT, your expererience will definitely see you through to that. As already mentioned on this thread, you have the advantage of knowing the end is coming and not be blindsided by it. Your mission for these next two years is to find what path you want to specialize in and dive right in.

Help on this board is HUGE, use it to your advantage!
    Certifications: ITIL, ACA, CCNA, Linux+, VCP-DCV, PMP, PMI-ACP, CSM
    Currently Working On: Microsoft 70-761 (SQL Server)
  • Options
    aspiringsoulaspiringsoul Member Posts: 314
    Degrees in the states are really just another things for HR to check off the list. They'll even accept terrible schools like WGU or University of Phoenix as long as it says "degree" somewhere on it.

Actual knowledge is where you'll stand out. If you have that much experience, you should train for the specific path you want. With your programming background, you could get a high paying job pretty easily.