Options

Am I really not qualified for a Comcast Comtech 1?

Moon ChildMoon Child Member Posts: 195 ■■■□□□□□□□
I figured didn't get the job with Comcast as a Comtech 1 when I went in for interview over summer and never heard back from them. The Comtech 1 is basically just going to houses and running wires in house and setting up cable/ internet service for clients in the house. In interview they said they would train you for 13 weeks no previous experience needed. It was $14/hr starting pay.

A candidate they interviewed and hired was a lady in my town I know. She had no previous experience doing anything remotely similar to this. I talked to her about computers and networking in waiting room before they interviewed us and she said she has trouble with computers couldn't understand them. Didn't know much about TV's and not a clue about networking. No computer degree, no certs, no college, had not worked in the workforce for over 15 years.

I have a computer degree, Microsoft certs, A+, N+, S+, 2 years previous experience in IT field.

I just was baffled when I got rejection letter and they told me I didn't have the work history or skills to do the job, yet they hired that lady who had no college degree, certs, didn't seem to know a clue about computers or networking, and had not worked in over 15 years.

Do I truly not have the previous experience or skills for this job? DID 1 Year doing php/ web development and this past year been working as a laptop technician.
Just confused...
... the world seems full of good men--even if there are monsters in it. - Bram Stoker, Dracula

Comments

• Options
    volfkhatvolfkhat Member Posts: 1,054 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Bro-ham,
    you gotta understand how the game is played.

Employers want people that they can control. They want people with enough skill to get the job... but Not enough skill to get a better Job/offer tomorrow.

You were Rejected because you were OVER qualified.