Keep failing at interviewing

DojiscalperDojiscalper Member Posts: 266 ■■■□□□□□□□
Ugh, I did it again guys and I'm kicking myself badly. I just can't interview and I don't know whats wrong with me. I face customers and answer their questions every day, I consult about IT all the time, I explain what I'm going to do, explain how I did it, and I've been doing the work for over 20 years, but I just have some problem when I'm in an interview situation.

Had an interview the other day, I got the call out of the blue with no job description, I realized within minutes they needed someone with enterprise experience in their technologies, but thats not the issue. I got asked how I'd deploy and route a wireless guest network in a hotel environment, (so multiple access points in a multi story building). It didn't matter how I answered because I already wasn't what they where looking for, but I'm just really mad that I just froze up and stumbled and didn't give them a good answer. I know how to configure and deploy the equipment and the considerations for channel zone overlap, etc.

This is just the most recent example, I've flubbed up even simpler things like the types of DNS records, etc.

I'm working on getting an interview for a job I really want in a few days and I'll probably freak out there too, I really need to ace an interview badly. I've been looking for a long time and had lots of interviews that I completely fail at every time. The only thing I got is blind stubbornness so I'm not giving up.

Comments

• Basic85Basic85 Member Posts: 189 ■■■□□□□□□□
    This happens to me a lot and to other people. I usually look up the answer that I messed up on and write down on what I would do than move on. Sometimes it's not you but really them. Keep applying to more jobs and working on certifications.
  • wd40wd40 Member Posts: 1,017 ■■■■□□□□□□