Options

One thing you can do to get a great job in IT

13»

Comments

• Options
    ITSec14ITSec14 Member Posts: 398 ■■■□□□□□□□
    It's not the best for her, but it's the most we can afford....

I think that's a great plan. If you can save her 3 years of college tuition, she will have a great head start to her financial future. There seems to be some social pressure for kids in high school to attend 4 year universities instead of community college first or else they will be looked down upon from their peers. Instead, we need to do a better job to educate kids in high school about their options which not only make sense for their education, but also for their financial future too. Kudos for providing her a better long term option!

Personally, I went to community college for 1.5 years, transferred to a local 4 year university for a year majoring in Criminal Justice, then finally transferred again to a private university where I completed my IT degree. Looking back now, I wish I would have done something more cost effective, but I didn't know what I wanted to do with my life at the time. I'm glad I graduated from where I did, because it's a really good school (probably top 100), but it cost me in terms of taking on a lot of debt.
  • Options
    MooseboostMooseboost Member Posts: 778 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Looking at a higher level, I think the best thing singular thing you can do to get a great career position in IT is develop a drive. Find a way to become passionate about technology and learning. There is no degree, certification, or training course that can replace this because (in my opinion) without the desire to push yourself then that paper is only going to win you a chance on paper but there is so much more to obtaining a job than just the paper.