MCSA 2016 Prep

JohanMJohanM Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi I am new to the board and want to see if I can Perhaps get some assistance on exam prep for MCSA /SE

I wrote my MCSA 70-740 exam today and failed said exam which was kind of a shocker to me since I felt I did all the prep I could do for this exam I have the book from Microsoft I have Sybex test engine guide and worked on a VM I created with the image for Server 2016 also I have roughly a years worth of experience  in field also it's not that I am new to the Microsft exam field I did a diploma in Network systems.

Since I went to "write" today I felt like I barely knew what was going on in that exam.

If there is someone who can perhaps assist me in giving me a few pointers on how to properly retain this information it would be much appreciated. 

Comments

• _netmon_netmon Level 99 Wizard Mod Posts: 878 Mod
    edited September 2019
    Welcome to Tech Exams!

Don't be disheartened on failing your exam. All of us experience it at one or more times in our lives and it's a way of progressing and learning from your mistakes.

I am currently on route for my MCSA for Server 2016 and failed the 70-740 back in March. It's a tough exam and covers a lot of ground. The best way of learning (and remembering) the topics are through combined resources. This is what I would personally suggest:

1)
    Print off the latest exam objectives here and use them as a checklist.
    2) Use a book to cover the basics and start to understand the topics (I prefer the official Exam Ref by Craig Zacker).
    3) Use a video course to fill in the gaps from the books (I would highly recommend CBT Nuggets. You pay a monthly subscription but get full access to all video courses, custom labs and practice tests).
    4) Depending on your level of experience with Server 2016, I would recommend creating your own labs if you have the time. Practice setting up clusters and Hyper-V hosts and just playing around with the technologies.