1st CCIE lab attempt blog and help for candidates.

Comments

• TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Ok my attempt to build out some MPLS core scenarios on the INE R&S remote rack has been thwarted as the 3560 and 3500 switches do not support mpls label switching. So the session is useless. I have never used the S&P rack before but will see if it helps any. Hopefully my tokens go across racks otherwise I will have to spend some money.
    Ok the credits are transferrable and I now have a SP rack session going. Found the SP physical topology drawing for the rack on the INE website. Im not familar with this topology but looking at it it seems rather simple to me. Perhaps Im doing the wrong CCIE...anyway Im top heavy on MPLS requirement at work right now. I have never seen the SP workbook but looking at this topology I imagine it does not require you to build MPLS cores. I need four routers in a row CE-PE-PE-CE to get moving with all this. R1 - R3 - R2 offer three strung together with serial links so they will be useful. But for the fourth, the CE router I will have to transit either a Frame Relay cloud or ATM to get the PE to it. Its been a while since I lit up an ATM datalink and I would imagine ip vrf forwarding just isnt going to work over frame relay!

Fun. I should really be spending time when the family but how else will I have time to get into something like this. I will fire up the routers now and see how I get on.
    Progress. I got the ATM P2P lit up between PE2 and CE2. Lets see if I can get the vrf forwarding working. If so VPN config next..
    Couldnt get the end to end solution working yesterday so abandoned and returned to the books. Continuing with research today. May take a rack session to lab a core and MPLS VPN.
    No agreeable timeslots available on racks today. Will resort to reading and working things out on paper.