Options

My router lab

Comments

• Options
    pandimuspandimus Member Posts: 651
    this is the show version from my switch i got today.

Cisco Catalyst 1900/2820 Enterprise Edition Software
    Version V8.01.00
    Copyright (c) Cisco Systems, Inc. 1993-1998
    Switch_A uptime is 0day(s) 00hour(s) 03minute(s) 51second(s)
    cisco Catalyst 1900 (486sxl) processor with 2048K/1024K bytes of memory
    Hardware board revision is 5
    Upgrade Status: No upgrade currently in progress.
    Config File Status: No configuration upload/download is in progress
    27 Fixed Ethernet/IEEE 802.3 interface(s)
    Base Ethernet Address: 00-50-BD-78-93-C0
    Switch_A#

What is the standard in switch's? is this decent? can i upgrade this?
    Xinxing is the hairy one.
  • Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    The newer Cisco switches use version 12.x, just like the Cisco routers do. The maximum version for the 1900 series is 9.x, I think.

I have very little experience with switches, and it may be wise to upgrade to 9.x, but I don't think it will make a lot of difference for the commands required to know for the CCNA exam, if any difference at all.

The Standard version can actually be downloaded from the Cisco site, but you have the Enterprise version (which is required for VLANs etc, but you probably knew that already), so make sure you upgrade to a newer version of the Enterprise edition, if you upgrade. Also make sure to check the memory requirements before upgrading.

Upgrading a switch is pretty much as simple as upgrading a router, although care should be taken, and a backup of the current image as well ;)

Here are some docs that might help you further:

icon_arrow.gifwww.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/lan/28201900/index.htm

icon_arrow.gifwww.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/lan/28201900/1928v9x/ee_scg/index.htm

icon_arrow.gifwww.cisco.com/univercd/cc/td/doc/product/lan/28201900/1928v9x/cli/index.htm
  • Options