Options

Weird question..

vColevCole Member Posts: 1,573 ■■■■■■■□□□
I'm currently a help desk tech for a large electrical contractor. I work in the corporate office so I need to dress accordingly. But, being a woman, women's clothes aren't all that great to be fixing computers & such in. Half the time I'm pulling down my shirt and pulling up my pants. (I know you're thinking "get a shirt that fits!" or "get a belt!") Well women's clothes don't work fit like men's and aren't meant that way. (I do wear buttons ups and pants).

Here's the thing. Outside of work, I do wear men's clothes. But one's that fit. On Friday's we're allowed to wear jeans & such. So I do wear men's jeans/shirts/etc. and no one says anything.
I was wondering if I should ask my boss if it's alright for me to wear men's clothes Monday - Thursday as well. Such as button ups tucked nicely into khakis/slacks w/ a belt. (I'll even wear a tie like the rest of the guys if I have to)

You all have seen my picture, so don't go pointing the finger saying I'm "butch" or trying to be a "man"...

Anyways, should I e-mail my boss and ask him if it's ok? Or should I just do it?
If I should e-mail him, what should I say?

Thanks,

-Fade crash.gif

Comments

• Options
    Ricka182Ricka182 Member Posts: 3,359
    I would request to meet with him and explain the situation. Make sure he knows you're trying to be professional like the others, but the clothing you have to wear tends to reveal too much when you're doing your job. I would think meeting with him in person can send a message better then email...he may see you really want to do you're best, but this speedbump needs to be addressed......
    i remain, he who remains to be....
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You all have seen my picture, so don't go pointing the finger saying I'm "butch" or trying to be a "man"...