Options

Hello EveryOne Im a Newbie:p

2»

Comments

• Options
    jamesp1983jamesp1983 Member Posts: 2,475 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I know I didn't get any phone calls for serious jobs until I received my MCSA. My BS is from a regionally accredited school and I was working an entry level job with 2 years of experience. I think it's a combination of the 3. Although, I have seen guys without any college, but with certs, who make really good money and are happy with what they are doing.
    "Check both the destination and return path when a route fails." "Switches create a network. Routers connect networks."
  • Options
    zen masterzen master Member Posts: 222
    Tech109 wrote:
    Bottom line: Certs and/or degree will get you the interview. Experience will get you the job. The person interviewing you will know whether or not your really know your stuff by how you respond to the technical questions. You can't BS your way through an interview if the person conducting it knows their tech.

If you're looking for an entry-level helpdesk job, they'll cut you some slack as long as they know you can problem-solve and troubleshoot. For higher-up jobs, even desktop support, they want to know that you've actually worked with the technology in a similar environment.

It's the same in other tech fields, like programming and engineering.

Many companies are willing to train you if you've shown enough promise by doing well in your studies. After all, how else would you get the experience? icon_confused.gif
  • Options
    Mishra wrote:
    snadam wrote:
    certs vs degree?!?!?!?

or more like

40.jpg

Some might even say ...

beating_a_dead_horse.jpg

I can only speak for where I am, and my country. I run a local forum, and I post jobs for the benefit of the members of my forum. I can tell you for a fact that almost ALL of those jobs require a degree. I'm not saying you can't get by without one, I'm just telling you what I've observed ... take it for what it's worth. [/img]
  • Options