Options

What's considered "entry-level" and "mid-level," and where am I in that spectrum?

LockeWiggin83LockeWiggin83 Member Posts: 28 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm trying to get a gauge as to where I sit in the overall spectrum of IT experience, and, if I decide to get a new job, what my qualification level is.

I'm very new to the IT profession in general (started nine months ago; three months probationary, six months practical experience), but I've been exposed to a LOT in that short time frame, I have a lot of independence within the group, and I definitely don't consider myself "entry-level" anymore in terms of skills or experience. But being so new to the profession, it's hard to have an overall perspective on my relative qualifications, so I don't really know what I'm "worth," so to speak.

Anyway, I can post my actual work experience, if that's necessary, but I get a little verbose in my descriptions, and I've done a LOT (I didn't do help desk or support; I work on a production content distribution network in the entertainment business), so to keep this short, I just wanted to know what is generally considered "entry-level," "mid-level," etc.? What sort of skills, certs, and experience are expected, responsibilities, and (last but not least) pay expectations, etc.?

Comments

• Options
    jryantechjryantech Member Posts: 623
    Welcome LockeWiggin,

Depends what you want to do in IT. Normally people start at Help Desk positions.

To get a job in a Help Desk position I would start with your CompTIA A+, try applying while also getting your CompTIA Network+ and maybe a MCP (70-270?).

These three exams should take you 6-18 months depending on how much study time you have.