Options

Considering possible job offer in...South Florida?

2»

Comments

• Options
    JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
    Dr_Atomic wrote: »
    I did have my interview down there last week. It's a "Tier I" job, but it seems to involve more than just making tickets. The interviewer mentioned a lot of voice terminology involved in this job, but I'd have to get clarificationl Since I basically just make tickets all day long now at my current job, I want to get beyond that.

Surprise, he didn't give me a technical interview. My first non-technical interview ever. I guess he liked my resume enough. He was a CCIE, too. Nice guy. I'm trying to compare where I am now with what this job would offer and if it would be worth taking if it was offered. Currently I make $42/yr. regular ($48/yr with my allowed five hours overtime a week), but I have lousy benefits, and I have to pay $400/mo. for them out of my own pocket (I'm a contractor). The job I interviewed for would pay at least $55/yr as a regular employee with great benefits. Of course, it's eight hours south of here where neither myself or my wife know anyone, and I hear housing can be more expensive. If I decide against it, I can always say that I would need at least $60/yr and see what he says. If he says no, well, nothing lost.

I must admit that when you get into middle age, you tends to want to stay put instead of move around like you didn't mind doing when you were single and in your twenties. The $$$ and benefits sound good, but moving all our earthly possessions again into a 24-ft. truck and relocating once more is getting to be a real drag.

Hopefully I'll hear something in a week, so he said.