Options

why is it that CIOs don't have to be trained in IT???

13»

Comments

• Options
    deneb829deneb829 Member Posts: 292
    deneb829 wrote: »
    This is an interesting topic for me because I have been going through this for the past 18 months. I was hired to replace a retiring network administrator. I got to work right away on analyzing the problems about the slow networks. 7 sites, each site with between 100-250 computers all connected to 100mbps unmanaged switches. Each unmanaged switch was connect to an old Cisco 2900 by one of the 100mbps ports. Some of the switches were 10mbps. A single, flat network.

Unfortunately, the old administrator leaving created a political vacuum. I was taking orders from a math teacher who understood little about network infrastructure, but told me in a meeting that she understands networks and knows everything that I know about computers and networks. Uh ... no. I have been doing this for 15 years, with almost 10 in networking, and I certainly don't know everything.

I was told to give every computer (nearly 1000) static IP addresses because of network issues they have been having over the past few years and the computers with static IP addresses have not experienced the problems. Well, 10 minutes with Wireshark revealed rouge DHCP servers (wireless access points routers with their default settings installed by users). The problem was fixed in a day, but when I explained what the problem was it was like talking to a wall. Another location "needed" a new server because the installed one was 'messed up'. Again, a few minutes on site revealed the DNS settings on the clients were pointing to the external, authoritative DNS server and not the domain controller. When I adjusted the DHCP server to point at the Domain Controller, **it hit the fan - despite the fact that 90% of the computers on that network were static. When the new server was installed - surprise! the old problems still existed. There's dozens of stories like this.