Options

Stuppored's CCNA Progress Thread

StupporedStuppored Member Posts: 152 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have had the CCNA course on my plate for the last 3-4 years.

What I have:

Reading Materials:

CCNA - Official Exam Certification Library
Cisco Certified Network Associate - Study Guide - 6th edition - Todd Lammle

Hardware:

2 Catalyst 2900 series XL Switches
1 Cisco 3600 series router
2 Cisco 2600 series routers
1 Catalyst 1900 series router

I have read through the basic networking/OSI material. Currently I am working on subnetting with Todd Lammle's book. As per his audio cd material, I am studying converting binary to decimal with the cisco arcade flash game. Next will be exponents with base 2. With Todd's advice, I am supposed to be able to subnet in my head with 0 difficulty... so memorizing these simple items and hammering away at them repeatedly has become this week's homework. Next I will try to apply this to following and memorizing the 5 steps of subnetting. How long does it usually take any of you with CCNA certs to subnet in your head - prior to going into the exam?
I want to be able to do it like step 1, 2, 3 ,4 ,5 with no DUH DUH DUH in between.

If anyone can link me to an exponent flash game that would benefit me, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Comments

• Options
    After playing that binary game for a good 5 hours spread over multiple days I sat down once again to study subnetting. Today was a major breakthrough. It's so easy... I can do it in my head. That is, for class c only until I pickup where I left off today. I'm feelin kind of buzzed from this breakthrough... like an AA member making a breakthrough in their 'problem'... it's been like 5 years since when I should have originally grasped the basic concepts... lol
    I do still have to practice adding up 8's, 16's, and 32's to become more time efficient when drawing up the list of blocks.
  • Options
    muonmuon Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
    got a link to this subnet game?
  • Options