Options

Student Experiences at Western Governors University (WGU)

Comments

• Options
    LDSTLDST Registered Users Posts: 1 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Hello all!
    I'm giving serious consideration to enrolling in the M.S. Information Technology Management program with WGU. I have a B.S. degree in Computer Information Systems, earned back in 1999. I'm an IT Manager with 23 years of experience in IT. Did several certifications (CNE, MCSA, ITIL) in my early years but haven't really tried any in the last 10 years.

Anyone here that is in that exact program?

Any thoughts on the M.S. ITM vs. Cybersecurity and Information Assurance degrees?
  • Options
    revelatedrevelated Member Posts: 19 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Wow. It's been years since I was in this thread. I was looking back fondly at my posts of frustration.

For the record, I dropped WGU in September 2015, mostly because of the handling of the course chaos. They tried to retain me, I gave them an offer: drop the Algebra and Physics requirements. They refused.

The issue was the # of CUs. I was already over the number I'd signed up for due to them changing classes over and over again, but they still were requiring me to take 20 more CUs worth of classes. So I dropped them.
  • Options
    AnessaAnessa Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I just started the Masters in Information Technology Management on May 1st and have a similar background. I have been in IT 26 years, mostly in Networking, recently project management side. I did get my PMP certification so I didn't need the Project Management class. That said, one month in, I'm on my 6th class of 10. If you have that background, are motivated, and have a gift for writing papers, you should easily clear it in a 6 month term.

Best of luck!
    Anessa
    LDST wrote: »
    Hello all!