Options

thenjduke road to CCNP

thenjdukethenjduke Member Posts: 894 ■■■■□□□□□□
I officially starting my track for these new exams. I was looking at some of the old exams and I have to admit I am really looking forward to the CCNP exams. I have a subscription to CBT Nuggets through work so I will be using some of videos from there. I had my boss purchase the Cisco Press books. I will be doing the 642-813 SWITCH exam first.

So last night I was looking at the equipment I would need and I created another thread before this one asking what others thought I would need in my lab.

I watch the first The Switches Domain: Core Concepts and Design from CBT Nuggets last night. It was mostly review for me from my CCNA Studies.

I plan by tonight to read the first chapter of Cisco Press switch book.

This is going to be a slow process because I am starting WGU on July 1st but I really feel I can do both.
CCNA, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCDST, MCITP Enterprise Administrator, Working towards Networking BS. CCNP is Next.

Comments

• Options
    billscott92787billscott92787 Member Posts: 933
    What are you using the CBT nuggets for the old track?
  • Options
    Bill just to get some of the core concepts down and back it up with the material from the book. Mostly the switching concept. I feel I learn a little more and understand more when I am watching the videos.
    CCNA, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCDST, MCITP Enterprise Administrator, Working towards Networking BS. CCNP is Next.
  • Options
    notgoing2failnotgoing2fail Member Posts: 1,138
    Congrats on your decision to go CCNP! You will find that half of the exam topics are rehashed. I'll give you a heads up now the new topics are: QOS, IP Telephony, Wireless and Campus LAN. It's all on the syllabus so I don't think I'm breaking any NDA rules. :D

The CBT Nuggets video is very good for ground concepts. They haven't changed, you just have to keep in mind that the new CCNP track has some different topics.

What is WGU?
  • Options