Do you hang your certs at work?

13»

Comments

• apena7apena7 Member Posts: 351
    Warsh1p wrote: »
    I don't think you are understanding the term Engineer. Just because your role is called Network Engineer does not mean you are actually engineering technology. Most companies are to vague with the position titles. Unless you work for Juniper, Cisco or any other networking company that creates the technology you go out and get certifications for, you do not engineer anything.

I feel the same way. I've always thought that unless I'm designing the next routing protocol or latest router from the ground up I wouldn't call myself a network engineer.
    Usus magister est optimus
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I work as an engineer (guess that depends on your definition) for a service provider. We aren't doing break/fix work, we are implementing and testing new technologies from the ground up. Research, testing, implementation, support the whole nine yards. While we don't invent new routing protocols or anything like that, its not your basic operators job.

The guy that I was referring to has a masters from a very well respected state school. No knock on the guy, but he just doesn't have the relevant experience to be successful at the next level even though he has the paper.

I'm glad you have people from "forums all over the internet" that agree with you, but thats just not what I've seen in the real world. Until I do, I'll have to disagree with you.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    this post has turned into a degrees/certs vs experience post. It was a simple do you hang your certs question.

Fact of life, you will fail every time to prove that any validation of education regardless if its a cert or degree is worthless.
    Certs: CISSP, EnCE, OSCP, CRTP, eCTHPv2, eCPPT, eCIR, LFCS, CEH, SPLK-1002, SC-200, SC-300, AZ-900, AZ-500, VHL:Advanced+