"Addicted" to studying?

I have sort of a crazy question. Has anyone ever felt like they were becoming addicted to studying? I've done a lot of studying in my time. I had a 4.0 GPA in high school and 3.9 in college. Obviously, I did a lot of studying, but I studied because I felt like I had to. The teacher scheduled a test, so I studied for it, but never because I just wanted to.

When I first started certification studies, it was pretty much the same thing. My employer required that I pass 70-270 within 6 months of being hired. I studied, and I passed, but I took over 5 of the 6 months allotted. I took several months off and then begrudgingly began studying for 70-290. This time I was studying because I felt I would never be able to get where I want to in my career without it. I studied slowly and with much stress, pretty much making myself do it. Not too long after that, I picked up some study materials and for 70-291 and "forced" myself to study it. I got about halfway through the MS Press book and just quit. I didn't study at all for about 6 months.

Then, something changed. I'm still not sure what it was, but I picked the MS press book back up, and I haven't stopped studying since. It's been about a month since then. I've passed 291 and Sec+ in that time (Read the first 400 pages of the Sec+ book in a day). I got the 293 book in the mail yesterday, but decided I would wait few days before I started studying. It didn't happen. I found myself reaching reading it last night (and then again this morning) almost compulsively. It's almost like I can't stop studying! My wife thinks I'm crazy, but I told her she knew that before she married me icon_wink.gif

Anyway, I just wanted to share that. Has anyone else ever experienced this?
Excellence is never an accident; it is always the result of high intention, sincere effort, intelligent direction, skillful execution and the vision to see obstacles as opportunities.

Comments