Options

WGU vs. B&M uni for B.S. degree?

vivithemagevivithemage Member Posts: 18 ■□□□□□□□□□
I am really up in the air about WGU or a B.S. at the U of Minnesota - Twin Cities.

PRO
WGU is MUCH cheaper
WGU actually has courses that i'd benfit from
WGU has loads of CERTS, big plus
WGU is all online
WGU could be done in less then 2 years

CON
credibility? HR toss my resume at first glance

Will HR people toss my resume, because I got my degree at a online institution? I know when I was helping hire an IT Manager at my old job, we tossed everyone with online degrees right away, didn't even look at hte rest of the information...so I am very hesitant!

quick background

1)5 years of network administration
2) 2 years associate completed at local community college
3) Accepted to U of M, but not sure if I can do it while working full time (loads of classes during the day, while I work).
4) endgame would be to work for the FBI/CIA/NSA/GOV. doing security/network administration

I am just not sure ...

Comments

• Options
    veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I am really up in the air about WGU or a B.S. at the U of Minnesota - Twin Cities.

PRO
    WGU is MUCH cheaper
    WGU actually has courses that i'd benfit from
    WGU has loads of CERTS, big plus
    WGU is all online
    WGU could be done in less then 2 years

CON

Will HR people toss my resume, because I got my degree at a online institution? I know when I was helping hire an IT Manager at my old job, we tossed everyone with online degrees right away, didn't even look at hte rest of the information...so I am very hesitant!

quick background

1)5 years of network administration
    2) 2 years associate completed at local community college
    3) Accepted to U of M, but not sure if I can do it while working full time (loads of classes during the day, while I work).
    4) endgame would be to work for the FBI/CIA/NSA/GOV. doing security/network administration

I am just not sure ...