Options

WGU vs. B&M uni for B.S. degree?

2»

Comments

• Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Welcome to the TE forums Dave.
    erpadmin wrote: »
    Well done, sir, and you get rep for that.
    The Division Manager and Company Owner sound like they deserve some too -- their response "nailed it."

But yeah, Dave earns some rep for sharing that with us here on TE. icon_thumright.gif
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • Options
    erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    mikej412 wrote: »
    Welcome to the TE forums Dave.

The Division Manager and Company Owner sound like they deserve some too -- their response "nailed it."

Very true. :D
  • Options
    PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    CON
    credibility? HR toss my resume at first glance

Will HR people toss my resume, because I got my degree at a online institution? I know when I was helping hire an IT Manager at my old job, we tossed everyone with online degrees right away, didn't even look at hte rest of the information...so I am very hesitant!

I feel that companies that are stuck in the old-school of B&M only are limiting themselves to qualified applicants. I agree that all online schools are different, some are just diploma mills, but WGU is obviously not.
  • Options
    Dave88LXDave88LX Member Posts: 47 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks guys! Just came across this forum while doing some research on the path to "whatever it is my next step should be."

I see the WGU stuff all up there in the stickies, I will have to give them a look-into as well.

I figured that was some good information above that would be helpful to a lot of people, being that it came from the people who actually do the hiring/firing. :)
  • Options
    bluemcbluemc Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□