DNS in VMware does not work

propellergrouppropellergroup Posts: 2Registered Users ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi

I've got small problem, I am fairly new when it comes to virtual servers. I have virtualized windows server 2003 on a client. If I would create a host record in DNS in a virtual server, example:
name:test
FQDN: test.apple.com
IP address: 192.168.1.10

I can't ping test ( or FQDN)


If I would do the same thing on a physical server I would be able to ping test.

I guess it's some kind of bridging issue between the client and the virtual machine. I'd really appreciate if someone could advice me what to do.

Thanks

J.S

Comments

  • DevilsbaneDevilsbane Posts: 4,212Member
    It does work. I guess my initial thought is to ensure that both the client and the server are on the same virtual network.

    Can you ping 192.168.1.10? Is the client configured with the correct DNS server?
    Decide what to be and go be it.
  • RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Posts: 4,298Member
    Devilsbane wrote: »
    It does work. I guess my initial thought is to ensure that both the client and the server are on the same virtual network.

    Can you ping 192.168.1.10? Is the client configured with the correct DNS server?

    This would be my vote. The host that is performing the ping does not have the proper DNS entry in the IP Configuration.
  • blargoeblargoe Posts: 4,165Member ■■■■■■■■■□
    If you ping the host name, and it returns something like "Pinging host.domain.com [x.x.x.x]", then it was able to query DNS for the IP, and the time out is simply your client not being able to ping the host. If you don't get the IP when you ping the hostname (you get "could not find host) then you either can't reach the DNS server from your client, or the DNS Server does not have information about the host.

    Can you communicate out from the VM? Is the VM even on the same network as your client?
    IT guy since 12/00

    Recent: 1/29/2018 - Passed 70-743 - MCSA 2016 Complete; 1/13/2018 - Passed 70-411 - MCSA 2012 complete
    Working on: Being a better coder, build/test/deploy automation fundamentals
    Future: Renew VCP (due 2/2019), possibly with an adjacent VCP or VCAP
  • propellergrouppropellergroup Posts: 2Registered Users ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi

    Thanks for the replies.

    The VM is on the same network as the client. I can ping the server name in the VM, the FQDN and the ip address for the VM. I got internet connection and can ping external addresses(ip and domain names) everything is working fine, it's just that I cant ping newly created dns host or aliases (CNAME). I am sure it's caused becasue a silly mistake by me.

    Thanks


    J.S
  • RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Posts: 4,298Member
    Hi

    Thanks for the replies.

    The VM is on the same network as the client. I can ping the server name in the VM, the FQDN and the ip address for the VM. I got internet connection and can ping external addresses(ip and domain names) everything is working fine, it's just that I cant ping newly created dns host or aliases (CNAME). I am sure it's caused becasue a silly mistake by me.

    Thanks


    J.S

    Can you please run ipconfig /all on the VM (server) and the client and post the output here?
Sign In or Register to comment.