Options

Education... at this point should I bother?

millworxmillworx Member Posts: 290
So I've been working professionally for 10 years, I start my Network Engineer IV job at Cisco in a week. When I am out if they chose not to renew the contract I will have almost 12 years experience. That will mean I will have almost 8 years of experience in Network Engineering, and 4 years of Systems / Network Administration.

Now I've only got a CCNA, and almost 2 semesters of college (no degree). Should I even bother going back to college? My lack of certs and a degree has never been a burden on me before in my job search as I have a proven record of success and knowledge.

I'm thinking about just forgetting about college and applying my efforts into getting the CCNP then CCIE. I might just skip the CCNP and go straight to CCIE R&S + CCIE Security considering the role I will be doing in my new job is designing and troubleshooting enterprise routing and switching environments, and working very heavily with ASA/PIX.
Currently Reading:
CCIE: Network Security Principals and Practices
CCIE: Routing and Switching Exam Certification Guide

Comments

• Options
    phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    First off I'm glad you got the job!!

Secondly I'm a big education guy, mostly because people told I was too dumb to ever earn my B.S. degree but I digress. Anyway, If you plan to stay in the tech side of the business then a B.S. may not be needed. However, if you decide to go for managment some day then a B.S. is almost required. In some organizations it would be an M.S. for managment.

With that said, do what you think is best for your situation. The CCNP or CCIE R&S is a good goal. If it were me I would do the CCNP but I don't have as much experience as you so that point is null and void.

Best of luck at Cisco and in your future endeavors.
    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus
  • Options