Options

Education... at this point should I bother?

2»

Comments

• Options
    eansdadeansdad Member Posts: 775 ■■■■□□□□□□
    videguy wrote: »
    Your background and certifications are great. However you will have a tough time breaking in without a BS. I finish mine next month, I should have finished it 20 years ago. I look forward to the day that I can say yes when they ask if I have a degree.
    More and more employers are requiring them for even the lowest level jobs.
    I've never heard anyone say I regret getting that degree.

He just got a job as a Network Eng 4 at Cisco I don't think he has a problem breaking in. I agree with the need for obtaining a degree to go along with certs but when you reach his level obtaining higher level certs would be more beneficial then a degree.
  • Options
    ITdudeITdude Member Posts: 1,181 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Out of curiosity, will Cisco fund IE attempts if you are a contractor there, or must you be fulltime with Cisco?

In other words do you get most of the same perks or not?
    I usually hang out on 224.0.0.10 (FF02::A) and 224.0.0.5 (FF02::5) when I'm in a non-proprietary mood.

tpatt100tpatt100 Member Posts: 2,991 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Well I would look at working on a degree slowly with goal to finish someday. Even though you are at Cisco you are still a contractor. Companies hire contractors because it's easier to **** them when they need to. So you might be at Cisco for a bit but eventually you will be looking for something else. I still see requirements for a degree in IT for major companies for direct hire positions. Plus I think long term you will be glad you got a degree later in your career, Cisco is big now but something else will come along later
  • Options
    Well, one of the nice things about Cisco contracts is that they tend to be renewed and last quite some time.....
    I usually hang out on 224.0.0.10 (FF02::A) and 224.0.0.5 (FF02::5) when I'm in a non-proprietary mood.