Options

An old man in Germany who wants to change careers.

djfunzdjfunz Member Posts: 307
Hi guys and gals, I'll try to keep this short. I just turned 29 and have been been a drafter the past 7 years. I grew tired of it realizing that I would always be the grunt of the firm compared to the Architects. Given the state of the economy in the States at the time and the lack of construction that was going on, I decided to move to Germany for a while to be with my girlfriend. She's German and was able to help me with the transition. For the next year, I studied the German language and the material in the CompTIA A+ books. I have always had a passion for computers and technology and decided after some time in Germany, to pursue this passion.

So here I am a 1-1/2 years later sitting in the IT department of a shipping company with something called a praktikum (basically a low paid internship). I'm playing sort of a service desk role but sitting in the IT department. I answer calls, do Tickets and the like. Imaging computers, installing software, configuring Lotus Notes and basic troubleshooting. I never took the A+ exam because it means nothing here for the most part. In fact none of my co-workers in the firm have even heard of CompTIA. So I figured based on my limited funds, I would pursue in the future more advanced recognized certs from the likes of Microsoft, Cisco and LPIC.