wgu undergrad: done ... woot!!
WGU MS IT Management: done ... double woot :cheers:

Comments

• Options
    exampasserexampasser Member Posts: 718 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Five reasons to avoid giving friends and family tech support | ZDNet

i need to start doing that so i can stop getting asked

1+

I can relate to “If I fix one thing, any future problem I will end up getting the blame for” , there is someone that I know that wants to to fix her computer but I've been declining to do so knowing that I would get nonstop phone calls for every minor thing that comes up afterwords and will spread rumors that it's my fault.
  • Options
    AldurAldur Member Posts: 1,460
    Oh yes, I have been there all too often.

The best part is that my family thinks that since I work in IT that I know how to fix computers. Granted, I know my way around a PC, but I work with routers and firewalls... Not desktop support. But trying to explain this results in blank stares...

Just the other day I'm visiting my parents and my grandma just hands me her cell phone. It's her neighbor who's having trouble with a windows program that keeps asking him to put in the apps CD... I let out a long sigh, ask what the error says, google the error, and send him the link of how to uninstall the unwanted app...

But seriously, who hands somebody a phone with a mystery caller on the other line looking for help with their PC... oh yea, grandma does icon_silent.gif
    "Bribe is such an ugly word. I prefer extortion. The X makes it sound cool."

-Bender
  • Options
    WebmasterWebmaster Admin Posts: 10,292 Admin
    Aldur wrote: »
    The best part is that my family thinks that since I work in IT that I know how to fix computers. Granted, I know my way around a PC, but I work with routers and firewalls... Not desktop support. But trying to explain this results in blank stares...