Options

Night Shift...Weekends... how do you feel about it?

One thing I've come to understand is that a lot of network/IT jobs are done during non-production hours and days. My ideal job is 9-5 or somewhere close to it but I have some concerns that you seasoned folks might be able to shed some light on:

What is the consensus of NOC/admin-type jobs out there: Just how common is it to actually do daytime NOC/admin/support work vs. non-peak hours? How many of you folks here who are already working actually work at night? If you do, does it suck that you work during the opposite times most people work/live? Are you happy with it? How do you deal? [I claim to be "nocturnal", which is probably limited to about 2-3am, but my goal right now is to live a more "normal" lifestyle... I guess that of a M-F, 9-5er.] Is the nighttime differential pay worthwhile?

I used to work in IT a long time ago (well, I still sort of do at my other part-time job, but it is not OFFICIALLY an IT job) and took for granted that situation at that time. It was 9-5 (flexible, but min. was 40 hrs.), I had basic benefits, paid holidays, vacations, etc. Weekends flew by too quick & somehow I never got much done anyway or so it seemed. The big catch was that the pay sucked... and it was that that made me leave there to go elsewhere which ultimately turned disastrous, forcing me to exit IT life and leaving me continuously struggling (and debating if I should or not) to get back in, now more so than ever (horrible timing with economic catastrophes icon_sad.gif ).