Options

CCNA Wireless: When (if ever) will companies start moving away from ethernet?

YuckTheFankeesYuckTheFankees Member Posts: 1,281 ■■■■■□□□□□
I'm trying to get "ahead" of the curve...will companies move away from ethernet to wireless any time soon? I think they might so I'm thinking about getting CCNA: wireless all the way up to CCIE: wireless.

I'm new to the network game, so I'm looking for anybody and everybodies opinions. Thanksicon_cheers.gif

Comments

• Options
    hiddenknight821hiddenknight821 Member Posts: 1,209 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Never. icon_lol.gif Can't have wireless without the Ethernet. icon_wink.gif
  • Options
    themagiconethemagicone Member Posts: 674
    Never... There is no security in wireless. Yes I know there is WPA/WEP/ETC but those can be cracked with the right know how and time. Also wireless doesn't provide the reliability and speed needed on a full time basis. Not to say wireless isn't good to know, it just will be second to Ethernet.
    Courses Completed at WGU: JIT2, LYT2, TFT2, SJT2, BFC2, TGT2, FXT2
    Courses Required For Me To Graduate WGU in MS: IT Network Managment: MCT2, LZT2, MBT1, MDT2, MNT2
    CU Done this term: 16 Total CU Done: 19
    Currently working on: Nothing Graduation Goal: 5/2013
  • Options
    chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Never. icon_lol.gif Can't have wireless without the Ethernet. icon_wink.gif

LOL !!!!!!icon_lol.gif
    Certs: CISSP, EnCE, OSCP, CRTP, eCTHPv2, eCPPT, eCIR, LFCS, CEH, SPLK-1002, SC-200, SC-300, AZ-900, AZ-500, VHL:Advanced+
    2023 Cert Goals: SC-100, eCPTX
  • Options
    TLeTourneauTLeTourneau Member Posts: 616 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Not to mention the whole dedicated vs shared bandwidth thing. Ethernet wins on that alone for now.
    Thanks, Tom

M.S. - Cybersecurity and Information Assurance
    B.S: IT - Network Design & Management
  • Options
    WafflesAndRootbeerWafflesAndRootbeer Member Posts: 555