Server work vs. networking

Comments

• TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    ptilsen wrote: »
    This is generally true here, too, but we are starting to have more and more -- MIS, CIS/IS, CIT/IT. There are also the career colleges (eg. ITT Tech), but you're better off with a non-IT degree. Computer Science is still relevant enough to add points to an IT resume.

A BA in something that is wholly unrelated to IT is generally worthless early in your career. You will find some helpdesks supporting specific software or hardware, which just want to see aptitude and customer service skills since the hard skills required are hyper-specific.

Even later in your career, though, an unrelated degree can hurt. Degrees in English, Philosophy, or the arts are especially worthless.

Steady on. Scott Morris has a degree in Journalism and he's doing fine. I studied History years back although admittedly I did get a Masters in IT later on. My liberal arts background has never held me back really, and it's a differentiator from the slew of IT type degrees so many people have these days. All that said I think a science, electronic engineering or IT type degree does help, particularly later down the track. People are often impressed with the engineering or physics degree on the CV of someone senior, even if it was years ago and they spent more time in the pub than in the labs.
  • ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    vinbuck wrote: »
    Out of respect for the really good server jockeys out there, there are some great ones, they are just too few and far between.

This. All of this talk of the differences stems largely from this -- in systems administration, it is easier BS, reboot, and Google your way through the problems. This means there is an enormous skill gap between the average systems guy and a top-notch one.

However, I will disagree with, or at least amend this:
    vinbuck wrote: